Checkerboard Lace Infinity Scarf

So, it appears I have an M.O …and it’s for posting happily about all the projects I start, and then finishing them and never blogging about them. Silly me!  I had left my pretty scarf that I finished back in January in the car for quite some time and finally brought it back in the house. Poking around on Ravelry I found that I hadn’t even listed it as a project there! Well, today I remedied that & I’m happy to share the adapted pattern with you as well!

This project was one I was excited to work on since it was completed with my birthday yarn from my dear bonus sister! It’s like she knows me or something! (Like I try to hide my yarn obsession? I don’t think I could.)  She had gifted me a wonderfully yummy hank of Malabrigo Worsted in this pretty variegated dark blue/green. I just love it!

P1010349copy

P1010354copy

 

This pattern was adapted from this pattern here from the Purl Bee. I liked it a lot when I saw it, but it was just a regular scarf and not my favorite type of scarf, which is infinity! (Yes. It’s true. I’m addicted to infinity scarves!)

Here’s my pattern adaptation. You can add it to your Ravelry queue here if you like!


Checkerboard Lace Infinity Scarf

Supplies

  • Size 7 circular needles (to knit in the round)
  • 1 Skein (210 yards) of Worsted Weight Yarn

Abbreviations:

  • k1 = Knit 1
  • p1 = Purl 1
  • yo = yarn over
  • ssk = slip, slip, knit
  • k2tog = knit 2 together

This pattern can be worked over any number of stitches that is a multiple of 10 plus 8

Cast on 129 stitches
Make sure there are no twists in your yarn (unless you want them there!) then join together.
(To Join: slip 1 stitch from right needle to the left. Then knit 2 stitches together back onto the right needle. Put your stitch marker and you’re good to go!)

Begin with 128 st for pattern

Bottom Border

  • Knit 4 rows (here’s what I did, though it wasn’t enough if you don’t want it to curl up on you!)
    • Row 1: k1, p1,
    • Row 2: p1, k1
    • Row 3: k1, p1,
    • Row 4: p1, k1

Pattern:

  • Row 1:  (For this and every odd numbered row, you knit)
  • Row 2: K6, *yo, ssk, k1, (k2tog, yo) 2 times, k3, repeat from * to last 2 stitches, k2.
  • Row 4: K2, *k3, (yo, ssk) 2 times, k1, k2tog, yo, repeat from * to last 6 stitches, k6.
  • Row 6: K4, *(yo, ssk) 3 times, k4, repeat from * to last 4 stitches, yo, ssk, k2.
  • Row 8: K3, *(yo, ssk) 4 times, k2, repeat from * to last 5 stitches, yo, ssk, k3.
  • Row 10: Repeat Row 6.
  • Row 12: Repeat Row 4.
  • Row 14: Repeat Row 2.
  • Row 16: K2, k2tog, yo, *k4, (k2tog, yo) 3 times, repeat from * to last 4 stitches, k4.
  • Row 18: K3, k2tog, yo, *k2, (k2tog, yo) 4 times, repeat from * to last 3 stitches, k3.
  • Row 20: Repeat Row 16.

* For the suggested amount of worsted weight yarn (100 grams) you can knit approximately 3 repeats of this pattern.

Start Top Border:

  • Knit 4 rows
    • Row 1: k1, p1,
    • Row 2: p1, k1
    • Row 3: k1, p1,
    • Row 4: p1, k1

Bind off loosely. (I used a stretchy bind off where you knit one stitch on to the right needle, move that stitch back to the left needle, and knit 2 together.)

Continue until 1 stitch is left on the needle, then weave in ends!

I also knit a little on the tight side, but I always carefully make sure to leave enough yarn so I can weave in the ends comfortably. I would say I had about an arms length and a half left! (So a little over 30 inches…since I know your arm and my arm may not be the same length!)

Hope you like the pattern! If you have any revisions please let me know!

Happy Knitting!

6 thoughts on “Checkerboard Lace Infinity Scarf

Share your thoughts!

