“Finish it Friday” Project | Hand Sewn Knitting Case

Hey all! I’ve been a bit absent from doing the usual “FYI Friday” posts (sorry about that!) They may come back in the future but for now I suppose it won’t be that structured!  Today I wanted to share some pics of the gift I made for my niece for her birthday last month! I think it turned out pretty good for my first time sewing something like this! It was really quite therapeutic to hand sew, there’s something so zen about it really. 😀

IMG_20150330_173219

One of my niece’s favorite colors is purple so I was excited to find this fabric in my stash! Also already had the purple embroidery thread, and ribbon! (Yay for being a craft hoarder!) I do like the way it turned out (since I’m no master seamstress by any means) so it was a great first attempt for basically “winging” it!

I measured a length of 23 inches. Which allowed the finished piece to be 11 inches in height & width (with a little extra for seam allowance) , 5 inches for the pocket, and 7 for the flap to come down over the needles. (If I were to make another one I would probably make it wider to allow extra fabric to be on the sides.)

I must say, the nice straight lines of the fabric made it easy to stitch the pockets. It probably would’ve turned out very different otherwise! (Well, perhaps I would’ve used my fabric pen and made straight lines) but I didn’t have to so that worked out!

IMG_20150329_123128

IMG_20150329_134005

IMG_20150330_134623

I ended up making the last couple of pockets smaller since the needles were smaller, so that worked out!

IMG_20150330_173339

IMG_20150330_173248

Hope you like it! My next sewing project (sometime in the near future) will be envelopes for my cash budgeting! Happy Friday! Hope you all have a fabulous weekend!

6 thoughts on ““Finish it Friday” Project | Hand Sewn Knitting Case

  1. Wow what a great present idea… Your hand sewing is so neat – well done I would not have had the patience.

    Like

Share your thoughts!

