Crochet Fusion Tote Bag • Fibreandfabrics Crafts Blog #fibreandfabrics #crochet

Crochet Fusion Tote Bag

Well, happy Friday to you!  I hope things in your crafty world are going well. Things are well in my little world, but it seems like I haven’t had hardly any time to pick up a needle or hook really. I can already feel the sniffles and itchy eyes coming on to kick off allergy season. (It’s not even MAY yet… Oye.) But ANYway…. onto my main wip.. this crochet & fabric fusion tote bag! I did want to share a few photos (some of them you’ll notice from my Instagram page) of my progress so far on this fun project! Let’s rewind and start from the beginning!

Crochet and Fabric Fusion Tote Bag • Fibreandfabrics Crafts Blog #crochet #sew #fibreandfabrics

Fabric Quarters from Joann's were 2 for $2 • Fibreandfabrics Crafts Blog
Fabric Quarters from Joann’s were 2 for $2!

 

Bottom of bag with box corners done!
Crochet Fusion Tote Bag • Bottom of bag with box corners done!

Doing box corners was a good decision! (I’ll show you why later! 😉)

Crochet Fusion Tote Bag lining done! • Fibreandfabrics Crafts Blog #fibreandfabrics #sewing
Crochet Fusion Tote Bag lining done

I did have to end up running to my fabric stash for a bit of white fabric because I just couldn’t live without a bag liner since the whole inside wasn’t going to be crocheted. I also used some crochet thread to blanket stitch around after I was done with the lining so I would have something nice and sturdy to attach the yarn to. You can check out a little video of that process from my Facebook page.

Crochet Fabric Fusion Tote • Fibreandfabrics Craft Blog #fibreandfabrics #crochet #sew
Crocheting the bag part after adding the blanket stitch with crochet thread.

This is a fun project because you get to start off with some sewing, then switch to a little hand embroidery, then whip out your crochet hook & do that! Perfect really, for the crafty person who doesn’t like to do one thing for very long. 😀 (That’s totes me!) Haha, Totes.. get it? Because we’re talking about tote bags?.. ((okay sorry)) 😂

Crochet Fusion Tote Bag • Fibreandfabrics Craft Blog #fibreandfabric #crochet #sewing
Fun that it is functional as a bag from the start!

I now have crocheted a bit more, and it’s more of a half fabric half crochet bag. So I need to snap another pic and post that…but this has been a fun project so far.. and I can’t wait to share more of the details of creating this with you in some upcoming You Tube videos! For now I’m thinking of different ideas for the handles!

Oh! And the boxed corners were not only a great idea because I wanted the bag to be wider, but because out of the little squares you get left with…you can make some buttons! I don’t yet know how these will be incorporated into the project, but I suppose that’s half the fun!

 

Instagram Story • cute fabric buttons out of left over box corner scraps. #sewing #fibreandfabrics

Follow me on social media for the most recent updates as well as free patterns, and other crafty stuff!

 

Thanks for reading my posts here on Fibreandfabrics Craft Blog. ♥ Gina #fibreandfabrics #crafts

♥ If you liked this post, please pin it on Pinterest!

Crochet and Fabric Fusion Tote Bag • Fibreandfabrics Crafts Blog #crochet #sew #fibreandfabrics

 

Fibreandfabrics Crafts Blog • Knit Crochet Sew • DIY #fibreandfabrics

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Crochet Fusion Tote Bag

Share your thoughts!

